Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem

Ratings and Book Reviews ()

Overall rating

4.6 out of 5
5 Stars
13 reviews have 5 stars
4 Stars
8 reviews have 4 stars
3 Stars
0 reviews have 3 stars
2 Stars
0 reviews have 2 stars
1 Star
0 reviews have 1 stars

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • Another great Jessie Novak Mystery!

    I really enjoyed this latest installment in the Jessie Novak series.. I didn't realize until I started reading this series how much I would like the nurse/detective dynamic.. I also love all of the side characters in this story, especially Rufus.. He is an adorable older gentleman who Jessie checks in on every day.. Jessie is working with the police as a forensic nurse. She is in a new relationship, and her mother has popped back into her life, after thinking her dead for years. So she has a lot on her plate. When the body of a woman who may have jumped off a building is brought in, Jessie finds some suspicious evidence.. leading her to believe the woman may have been dead before she fell.. Thankfully the MEs office agrees, the fact that some of the evidence also matches some other cases of "Jumpers" opens up questions about some past cases, and when more women begin "falling" off buildings Jessie and the police know they have to figure out whats going on before anyone else dies.. Jessie normally works with a detective named Sam, but in this book he is off prepping for a court case on a different crime, and while I love Sam and their relationship I did really like seeing her work with other people. They mystery was really good and I had no idea who the killer was until it was revealed. I really liked how we got a look through the killers eyes and a peak into his thoughts. I can't wait to read the next book and see what kind of trouble Jessie will get herself into..

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Thrilling!

    "Her Mother's cry' by Roberta Gately is the third book in the Jessie Novak series. With every book I see the growth in the confidence and the change in character of Jessie and it is so much like seeing a friend blossom in personality right in front of me. A young woman falls down from a parking garage and due to the circumstances she is taken to the hospital where Jessie is working in the emergency and although the death seems to be a fall, she seems to notice a few injuries or marks that are not coherent with the fall. Jessie also gets offered a job as a nurse investigator due to her past help to the police department. Amidst all these events there are two more cases of young women falling to death. Jessie's observant eye and brain find out a few similarities to a few cases that have happened earlier elsewhere and that is when they realize that it is a serial killer. The whole journey of investigation and also a few changes in her personal life make this a truly interesting and a gripping read. The story is fast paced with parallel lines of Jessie's personal story. Her battle with her insecurities and also the heart and mind that she brings to the cases. The story follows very well along with clues and the thrill is in guessing who the possible culprit could be. If you love to read mystery thrillers and also love protagonist with a keen observant mind who bring in heart and soul to the cases that they solve then you will love this story of Jessie Novak. I thank Bookouture and Netgalley for approving my request to read and review the story and all the opinions expressed are solely mine.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • An addictive psychological and medical thriller

    BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'Her Mother's Cry' by Roberta Gately. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Roberta Gately, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 1st November 2021. This is the second book I have read by this author. It is also the third book in the 'Jessie Novak' series. I have previously read 'The Frozen Girl' which I also recommend anyone read. I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated thatthid book is 'Utterly addictive reading for fans of Lisa Regan, Robert Dugoni and Melinda Leigh.' I am a huge fan of Lisa Regan and Melinda Leigh so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Roberta and if this is half as good as 'The Frozen Girl' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of a prologue and 65 chapters. The chapters medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in Massachusetts, USA 🇺🇸. This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Jessie Novack and the unsub. The benefits of third person perspective especially with multiple points of view are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. Another heart racing page turner from the extremely talented Roberta Gately!!! This book is well written with good descriptions to help the reader imagine what is going on to the point where you could feel the chill in the morgue making the hairs on your arms raise. The synopsis, title and cover work perfect with the storyline. This series is unique in the fact that not only is Jessie a nurse but she's also working with the police so you get the benefit of seeing both the medical and police side of things. It is very fast paced with lots going on to keep the reader absorbed throughout. I cannot say I was surprised when it came to the end which was a shame but I figured something wasn't right with a certain character from pretty much when I met them. However, please don't let this out you off as I read several crime novels a week and get pretty suspicious pretty quickly!! Although I wasn't shocked I still enjoyed reading this book and do believe Roberta did alot of medical research which is great to see so congratulations Roberta as several authors don't do their research which can spoil a storyline. I also feel that Roberta has definitely improved her writing technique and picked up the suspense rate from her second book. There is alot of suspense filled momenta in the book and I was on the edge of my seat on severs occasions. It is filled with murder, romance, suspense, tension and friendship. I love that we get to see from the perps perspective and get to learn more about them, finding out why they are doing what they are and what their next move is going to be. I also love the fact that all medical and police terminology were explained in Layman's terms. The chapter numbers also include the dates which make the book more realistic. It is also handy to know the time line of events. Although this is the third book in the series readers will have absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader The characters were realistic and strong and I really enjoyed meeting them all again. I also enjoyed getting to know more about Jessie and Sam's characters and watching their relationship develop. It will be interesting to see what happens with them in the next book in this series. I also really enjoyed getting to know Roger , Tony, Donna. Eddie and Rufus who all stood out for me, each their their own unique and likeable personalities. Rufus is such a sweet character and I am really invested in his character. I'm looking forward to seeing what happens between Jess and her mother and seeing if a relationship develops. Overall an intriguing and page turning crime thriller novel with the perfect mix of police and medical scenes. Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Mystery, Romance Novel, Suspense, Noir Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Police Procedural, Urban Fiction, Crime Fiction, Medical Thriller and Medical Fiction amongst others. I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Lisa Regan, Robert Dugoni and Melinda Leigh. 333 pages. This boo

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • A Terrifically Good Read

    This book is the third instalment in the Jessie Novak series written by Roberta Gately, set in Boston, Massachusetts. It was a compelling read and I was soon wholly absorbed in the storyline. Jessie is edgy, sharp and a little different to your average protagonist. I like forensic nurse Jessie's intelligence, astuteness and keen sense of observation. As well as Jessie's take, the reader is treated to the viewpoint of the unnamed killer. It was so good and I can't wait for book four! I received a complimentary copy of this novel from Bookouture via NetGalley at my request and this review is my own unbiased opinion.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Thrilling story

    This is an excellent story. Can hardly wait for Jessie Novak Book 4. Very suspenseful!!

    Thanks for your feedback!

    0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS